Monday, June 22, 2009

Quanser Congratulates Leaders in Engineering Education

The American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Annual Conference and Exposition is not only a place to share your ideas and passion for engineering education. It is also a place where to applaud those who exemplify the best in engineering and engineering technology education and help prepare the next generation of engineers. It's a pleasure to share with you the names of this year's recipients of ASEE National, Society and Special Awards:

Excellence in Engineering Education - National Outstanding Teaching Medal
Donald P. Visco, Jr.
Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Tennessee Technological University
The National Outstanding Teaching Medal is designed to provide national recognition to an engineering or engineering technology educator for excellence in outstanding classroom performance, contributions to the scholarship of teaching, and participation in ASEE Section meetings and local activities.

Excellence in Engineering Education - The Benjamin Garver Lamme Award

John W. Prados
Vice President & University Professor Emeritus, University of Tennesse
The Benjamin Garver Lamme Award is bestowed upon a distinguished engineering educator for contributions to the art of teaching, contributions to research and technical literature and achievements that contribute to the advancement of the profession of engineering college administration.

Excellence in Engineering Education - Fred Merryfield Design Award
Mark Maughmer
Professor, Aerospace Engineering Department, Pennsylvania State University
Established in 1981 by CH2M Hill in memory of Fred Merryfield, a teacher and researcher at Oregon State University, this award recognizes an engineering educator for excellence in teaching of engineering design and acknowledges other significant contributions related to engineering design teaching.

Excellence in Engineering Technology Education - Frederick J. Berger Award
Richard Denning
Professor Emeritus, Engineering Technology Department, University of Central Florida
The purpose of the Frederick J. Berger Award is to recognize and encourage both programmatic and individual excellence in engineering technology education. It is presented to both the primary implementing individual and to the engineering technology school or department that have demonstrated leadership in curriculum, scholarly contributions, innovative techniques or administration in engineering technology education. The award jointly recognizes the individual and the activity, the individual and the program, the individual and the department or the individual and the school.

Excellence in Engineering Technology Education - James H. McGraw Award
John Stratton
Program Chair, Manufacturing and Mechanical Engineering Technology Department, Rochester Institute of Technology
The purpose of the James H. McGraw Award is to recognize outstanding service in engineering technology education. It is presented to a faculty member, author, or administrator who is, or has been, affiliated with an institution that provides engineering technology education.

Special Awards - Chester F. Carlson Award
Kamyar Haghighi
Head of Freshman Engineering Department and Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering, Purdue University
The Chester F. Carlson Award is presented annually to an individual innovator in engineering education who, by motivation and ability to extend beyond the accepted tradition, has made a significant contribution to the profession.

Special Awards - Clement J. Freund Award
Brenda J. LeMaster
Professor, Division of Professional Practice, University of Cincinnati
The Clement J. Freund Award honors an individual in business, industry, government or education who has made a significant positive impact on cooperative education programs in engineering and engineering technology. This award is now offered every odd numbered calendar year.

Special Awards - John L. Imhoff Global Excellence Award for Industrial Engineering Education
Jose Zayas-Castro
Head, Department of Industrial and Management Systems Engineering, University of South Florida
Endowed from the estate of the late Professor John L. Imhoff, this award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions in the field of industrial engineering education and has demonstrated global cooperation and understanding through leadership and other initiatives.

Special Awards - Sharon Keillor Award for Women in Engineering Education
Alice Parker
Professor, Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering, University of South California
The Sharon Keillor award is to recognize and honor a woman engineering educator who has an outstanding record in teaching engineering students, and reasonable performance histories of research and service within an engineering school.

Special Awards - DuPont Minorities in Engineering Award
Brenda Hart
Professor, Department of Engineering Fundamentals, University of Louisville

It is intended that this award be given to engineering or engineering technology educators who, as part of their educational activity, either assume or are charged with the responsibility for motivating underrepresented students to enter and continue in engineering or engineering technology curricula at the college or university level, graduate or undergraduate.

Special Awards - Robert G. Quinn Award
Jay Porter
Associate Professor and Program Director, Engineering Technology and Industrial Distribution, Texas A&M University
The Robert G. Quinn Award was established by Agilent Technologies, in proud memory of Robert G. Quinn and his contribution to thousands of engineering students and his direct influence on the Agilent Higher Education program. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in providing and promoting excellence in experimentation and laboratory instruction.

Special Awards - William Elgin Wickenden Award
Matthew W. Ohland, Purdue University
Sheri D. Sheppard and Gary Lichtenstein, Stanford University
Ozgur Eris and Debbie Chachra, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering
Richard Layton, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
The award recognizes the author(s) of the best paper published in the Journal of Engineering Education, the scholarly research journal for the Society.

Society Awards - Distiguished Service Citation
Walter W. Buchanan
J.R. Thompson Chair, Professor and Head, Department of Engineering Technology and Industrial Distribution, Texas A&M University
The Distinguished Service Citation is granted to an ASEE member in recognition of long, continuous and distinguished service to education in engineering and engineering technology through active participation in the work of ASEE.


No comments: